Away from the Table: My Best Friend’s Wedding

While those new to the felt may not be cognizant of this need yet, it is imperative for all poker players who spend a good deal of time playing to step away from the action and de-stress. This can be done in a nice outing, an expensive cruise, or a vagabonding trip around the world – the important thing is to focus your attentions on something besides cards, chips, and odds, thereby preventing burnout.

For me this past weekend my “time away” was the wedding of a really good friend of mine up in Ann Arbor, MI. Typically I don’t do weddings – I’m just not a huge fan of emotions, expectations, and long ceremonies – but this time it was different. They had a beautiful ceremony, then spirited us away by limo to what has to be one of the most fun-filled receptions I’ve yet to encounter. There was an open bar and, as is my style, I probably had more Glenlivet in my system than blood by the time the reception wound up and I was headed to the afterparty.

For those of you who enjoy classy bars and speakeasies, let me highly recommend The Last Word, a charming little place in downtown Ann Arbor that serves some quality liquors and has a very unassuming yet classy atmosphere. Additionally, an amazing post-drinking breakfast spot would have to be the Golden Egg, an Ypsilanti eatery with definite Greek undertones. I enjoyed a stunning Mexican omelette, replete with chili, and a side of gyro meat to complement my pancakes and coffee before hitting the road.

Not everything valuable comes in the color green. Make sure to enjoy life away from the tables as much as you enjoy your time at them.

 

Leave a comment